If you have been injured in a car accident and you file a personal injury claim, you are not only anxious to heal and get your life back on track, you are anxious to receive compensation from the insurance company to pay your bills. So you may be wondering how much time the insurance company has to pay your claim.
Time Limits for Insurance Claims
It is not unusual for a person involved in even a simple car accident to incur thousands of dollars in medical expenses and property damages. Since most people do not plan to have an accident, they frequently don’t have the extra money to pay for these unexpected expenses. Because of that, most people have to rely on insurance (either their own insurance or that of the at-fault party) to pay for the major costs associated with a car crash, like medical bills, property damage and out-of-pocket costs.
Because it can be so hard to wait for money that you desperately need to pay the bills, most people are anxious to know how long it will take before they receive a payout from the insurance company.
Unfortunately, there is no single answer to this question.
The exact amount of time it takes depends entirely on the facts of your case, your insurance company and the laws of the state where you live.
Typically 30 Days
In general, however, most car insurance companies resolve car accident claims within 30 days of the filing of the claim.
But if your situation is a complex one or if your state does not have laws that require the insurance company to respond within set timeframes, it can take much longer.
Working with an experienced personal injury attorney in Cumming Georgia can help you navigate the process more easily and quickly.
State Time Limits Imposed on Insurance Companies in Georgia
As noted above, state law can impose time limits on insurance companies to respond to a claim, but not all states do. Some states simply allow an insurance company to respond within “a reasonable time.”
Georgia, however, does impose restrictions and time limits on insurance companies. Some of those restrictions and deadlines include the following:
- 15 days to acknowledge a claim.
- 15 days to provide proper forms.
- 15 days to accept or deny the claim after conducting a reasonable investigation.
- 60 days to make a final decision accepting or denying the claim.
The law also protects consumers against certain unfair practices of an insurance company, such as denying a claim without conducting an investigation, among other things.
Accidents happen and when they do, insurance forms an important part of your recovery.
Personal Injury Attorneys in Cumming, Georgia.
The personal injury attorneys at the Law Offices of Mark Weinstein, P.C., are here to help you. We serve clients in Atlanta, and in a number of counties throughout Georgia, including: Clayton County, Cobb County, Dekalb County, Douglas County, Fulton County, and Paulding County, among others. To find out how we can help you, call us at: 770-888-7707. Or contact us here.